I bought a gun today

IMG_3161

It’s impossible to hammer a nail through a 2×4 into a concrete floor. Some ways to attach a bottom plate are to use a rotary hammer and anchor bolts, or construction adhesive. The method I chose was to use a powder actuated driver, in essence, a gun. The one a chose cost $45 at lowes and fires a 22 caliber charge into a 3″ nail. I was amazed they sell these things at the hardware store with no 2 week waiting period or license necessary. I’ve never fired this thing through the air, vs. into wood and concrete. But, I don’t see why it would not work. I don’t plan on finding out though. Maybe if I were 14 again.

IMG_3160

1 Response to “I bought a gun today”


  1. 1 Meg July 18, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    I used to build a lot of sets (theatre nerd alert!), and I still remember the first time I used a nail gun. Oh, the raw power. The speed. The freedom.

    Nicely done.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter

  • Historically, NY real estate appreciates 14%/year. If a monkey was given $14M to invest in NY RE in 1973, he'd be worth $3.9B today. #trump 9 months ago
Anyone who wants to trade some hard labor for beer and pizza, or some of Lorna's homemade goodness, feel free to call or email me: hhlo@hhlodesign.com (206) 229-8082

